Explore Mangalore

Places Near By

Pilikula Biological Garden
Kudroli Gokarnanatha Temple
Ullal Beach
Kateel Durga Parameshwari
Surathkal Beach - Lighthouse
St. Aloysius chapel
Tanner Baavi Beach

Mangalore is the heart of a distinct multilinguistic—cultural region : Tulunadu a homeland of Tulu-speaking People, which was nearly coterminous with the modern district of South Canara. In the third century BC, the town formed part of the Maurya Empire, ruled by the Buddhist emperor, Ashoka of Magadha.From the third to sixth century AD, the Kadamba dynasty, whose capital was based in Banavasi in North Canara, ruled over the entire Canara region as independent rulers. From the middle of the seventh century to the end of the 14th century, the South Canara region was ruled by its own native Alupa rulers. The Alupas ruled over the region as feudatories of major regional dynasties like the Chalukyas of Badami, Rashtrakutas of Manyakheta, Chalukyas of Kalyani, and Hoysalas of Dwarasamudra. During the reign of the Alupa king Kavi Alupendra (c. 1110 – c.1160), the city was visited by the Tunisian Jewish merchant Abraham Ben Yiju, who travelled between the Middle East and India during the 12th century

Beaches to Visit
  • Someshwara Beach
  • Panambur Beach
  • Tanneer Baavi
  • Ullal Beach
Places to Visit
  • Kudroli Temple
  • Pilikula Nisargadhama
  • Karinja Betta
  • Yenepoya Educational Trust

Dakshina Kannada is a district in the state of Karnataka in India. Sheltered by the Western Ghats on the east and surrounded by the Arabian Sea on the west, Dakshina Kannada receives abundant rainfall during the monsoon. It is bordered by Udupi District to the north, Chikkamagaluru district to the northeast, Hassan District to the east, Kodagu to the southeast and Kasaragod District in Kerala to the south. The district has two agro-climatic divisions: Coastal region consisting of Mangalore and Bantwal taluks Malnad region consisting of Belthangady, Puttur and Sullia taluks. The district has two revenue subdivisions — Mangalore (consists of Mangalore, Bantwal, Moodabidri, Mulki and Vitla) and Puttur (consists of Puttur, Belthangady, Sullia and Kadaba). Mangalore city is the district headquarters of Dakshina Kannada. According to the 2011 census of India, Dakshina Kannada district had a population of 2,083,625. Map showing the taluks of Dakshina Kannada District The district is divided into five talukas: Mangalore, Bantwal, Puttur, Sullia, and Belthangady. It used to include four northern talukas (Udupi, Kundapur, Karkala and Byndoor), but these were separated in August 1997 to form Udupi district. Dakshina Kannada, Udupi and Kasaragod are often called Tulu Nadu, as Tulu is the majority language in the region. Important towns in Dakshina Kannada include Mangalore, Bantwal, Vittal, Puttur, Sullia, Surathkal, Moodabidri, Uppinangady, Nellyadi, Belthangady, Venur, Mulki, Dharmasthala, Ujire and Subramanya. The district is known for beaches, red clay roof tiles (Mangalore tiles), cashew nut and its products, banking, education, healthcare and cuisine.

South Canara (Dakshina Kannada), officially known as Mangaluru, is the chief port city of the Indian state of Karnataka. It is located about 352 km (219 mi) west of the state capital, Bengaluru, between the Arabian Sea and the Western Ghats mountain range. The population of the urban agglomeration was 623,841, according to the provisional results of the 2011 national census of India